International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

The travelling industry has multiple positive and negative effects on the locations which are being visited. It is debatable whether the good outweighs the bad in this situation. There are many advantages that tourism brings to communities. Firstly, a very beneficial effect is the boost to the economy it offers of any country which is being explored. For example, during the COVID crisis, nations that heavilly relied on tourism took major losses due to the lessened traffic, and due to this their governments and people suffered too. Another great effect of a country being visited often is the notoriety it may give a location. When a destination is very sought after, it gains more attention and this may boost multiple other industries coming from this place. A certain scenario where this might be the case could be someone visiting Greece, trying Greek yoghurt, and than buying Greek yoghurt back in their home nation from authentic Greek companies. Thus, tourism has many avenues to help a nation, however this does not come without its disadvantages. There are a few problems with tourism which far outweigh the positives in my opinion. A major negative is the environmental threat it poses due to the increased traffic to a certain location. This can be due to more vehicles being used to move these visitors, which then in turn cause more fossil fuel emissions. Another way this may be felt is by increased litering, which naturally follows the introduction of more people who are not local to a country. In turn, that might put animals in danger that are local and destroy beautiful natural habitats. The permanent residents are the most effected by tourism. An increased number of visitors makes local business increase their prices and thus causes local people to not be able to afford common commodities they usually would be able to. It also generally makes life more difficult for people who are trying to just go about their life, while offering little to no benefit in return to them directly. In conclusion, the disavantages of tourism far outweigh the potential positives from the perspective of the common citizen.