People should follow the custom and tradition when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

When populations move to a new country, they must abide by that location's culture and traditions. I believe that this statement is true to a certain extent, however it is also important that the people moving do not lose their original identity. Certain people refuse to assimilate in the societies of the countries they immigrate to, however they should do this in order to not disrupt the locals. Almost all countries have unique customs they follow, if someone new doesn't follow these customs they may come off as disrespectful. For example, in the Middle East it is common that women dress more conservatively than they do in the West. It is reasonable for inhabitants of Middle Eastern nations to expect visitors to not dress too provocatively in order to not disrupt them. Secondly, certain behaviors may be accepted in certain places, however that does not mean that they are appropriate where they currently live. A prime occurrence of this is seen in the United States, where all members of a crowd stand during the national anthem. Even if you are not an American citizen, it is a sign of respect to stand during the national anthem, not doing so would only unnecessarily disturb others. On the other hand, while it is important to do our best to fit in to a new society, we must also not lose the culture we came from in the process. Humans require a strong sense of identity, and without it they struggle. For this reason, we must always remember where we came from. Greek people demonstrate this in a great way in the city of Warsaw, where they organize monthly cultural events to represent their country and keep in touch with other Greeks. Another reason one must always represent their culture, is because it is a great way to find your footing when moving. It is very difficult to start fresh, and people from your home country can be of great help in making this process easier. A common example is the Indian community, who are very tight-knit no matter the place or time and always try to help one another with all situations. People from your culture, who experienced the same difficulties are more likely to help, and can aid someone in more meaningful ways. In conclusion, I agree that we must respect the traditions of the nations we move to, but I also believe we must not forget the culture we left. We must preserve our own customs as well as we can, while simultaneously respecting the place we live in.