In most countries, the crime rate is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why you do you think that is? What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

Crime rate is mostly higher in big cities while in rural areas crime does not happen that often. There are many factors that influence the crime rates such as the environment, average salary, and daily routine of people. I strongly believe that people commit crimes not because they are born that way but, because of how they were raised and the environment of where they grew up. For instance, Jeffrey Dahmer grew up in an abusive household where physical and emotional violence were normalized. And we can see that he is from New York city which is one of the biggest and populated city of the United States. He targeted black men and poisoned their drinks and later took their lives. The reason he targeted black men is that in my opinion, in the 90's people were much racist than they are now because of the society. And the result of that is crime against black men and women. However, we cannot justify their crimes just because they had a hard time growing up while there is people who also went through the same struggles and turned out great. In countryside, it is less populated than urban areas and everything is calm and peaceful as there is no high rush of life like in urban areas. Additionally, most people know each other in rural areas and that helps them to build connection and trust. One way to reduce crime rate is to educate children from a very early age about ethics and teach them what is wrong and right. Schools should update their educational system to teach young adults about empathy and how being a good person can affect their lives, not just teach them about mathematics, physics or english. Other ways to reduce crime rates would be educate the parents also. Even if kids are behaving correctly at school, there could be different environment waiting for them at home. So, it is crucial that parents also should influence their children with their behaviour. In conclusion, there is many reasons that influences people to commit crimes but, the main reason would be their relationship with their parents and the environment they grew up. I believe crime rates would reduce if adults took care of their children properly.