International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Tourism and its consequences is a highly relevant topic nowadays and discussed frequently. It offers perks like financial stability but can lead to local challenges like shortage of housing for local people. Were you to judge whether the impacts are mainly positive or negative you would however find more positive effects. First of all for many countries tourism is by far the strongest sector of economy. It increases the flow of money. For instance countries like Spain, Italy or Greece gain a lot of their capital by tourism. Not only spend people their salary on hotel bookings and local transport but they also will participate in activities or visit famous sights that are often expensive. If the touristic sector were to decreases, it would have negative consequences for the population of those countries. Besides the money earned by tourism can be invested in projects to protect the environment. Moreover, tourism provides a lot of jobs in places where it normally would be difficult for inhabitants to find a job due to infrastructural challenges. Thus tourism is not only very beneficial to the city council because of financial perks but also for locals. On paradise-like island like Mallorca or Corfu one will find a pretty dense infrastructure with little to no big companies offering the same amount of jobs as tourism does. In conclusion it can be justified to argue that tourists bring more advantages than disadvantages in their suitcase. They give the economy an extreme boost and are a source for jobs. Were less people to fly to those popular holiday destination it could have dramatic ramifications.