In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In various parts of the globe, people living in rural areas are moving to urban. From my perspective, although the declining population in the countryside has a few advantages, the overall long-term development is negative. Regarding the trend of decreasing rural population, there might be some advantages for both individuals and society. To begin with, migration to urban areas allows individuals to access better job opportunities, which may be more likely to lead to high-paid jobs, enhancing the quality of life. For example, in 2000, with the high speed of Chinese urbanization, the construction industry was quickly developing, which leads to a huge demand for workers. Therefore, compared with rural area, finding job for workers in cities might be easier. In addition, the decline of rural population may reduce farming intensity and allow farmland to regenerate, since the demand for agricultural production and environment pressure decrease at the same time. It is true that moving to urban areas for high salary jobs can allow individuals to improve their quality of life. However, this migration may result in the shortage of workforce in the countryside, leading to the downward trend of agricultural production. As many young people leave rural sector for the better working and living environment, fewer workers remain in the countryside. Consequently, agricultural activities may decrease, causing lower farming production, which may result in the shortage of national food supply. In terms of economy, with rural consumers moving to city, the consumption in countryside will definitely decrease. It is quite common to see the closed shops, restaurants, uncrowded amusements and unfinished buildings, due to the fewer consumers and low consumer spending power, causing weak consumer demand which has negative influence on long-term economic development. All of these backwards may largely cause a significant imbalance in economic development between urban and rural regions. In conclusion, the decreasing rural population has some benefits for individuals and society, such as improving the quality of daily life and protecting environment. Nevertheless, the shortage of workforce, fewer consumers and other problems may lead to negative impacts on both people's livelihood and country's economy, which are more severe than advantanges in long-term development.