In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

Students in almost every primary and secondary school nowasdays enjoy summer holidays for two month, or even more. School holidays are valuable for children; however, they are likely to be negative as well. School holidays are benificial for both students ' mental health and the management of their personal life. Students are extremely stressed at schools due to assignments, exams, or peer pressure. During long school holidays, they can escape from stressful and unpleasant environments and take a rest at home. Moreover, students usaully stay at schools to study for more than half a day, resulting in the reduce of family time, When summer holidays come, children can be released from schools and return to their families to enjoy trips or simply being together. Therefore, it is important and meaningful for students to have long school holidays. On the other hand, there are also arguments in favor of shorter holidays. Many people believe that children and teenagers would spend most of holidays playing and idling, instead of studying or engaging in personal growth. School holidays, hence, should be shorter to ensure students to have more time to study at schools. Furthermore, there are more and more parents both working and earning money for famlies, so they do not have much time to take care of children at home. As a result, if school holidays are too long, the problem of looking after kids at home will bother a lot of families. In brief, for reasons like academic performance and caring, some consider that school holiday should not be too long. In my opinion, school holidays have their value and benefits. On the other side, over long school holidays can cause troubles and negative effects on students. There should be a moderate policy for the length of school holidays to balance positive and negative effects.