Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some believe that students should be allowed to learn whatever they like in college. Meanwhile, others argue that they should only be allowed to study STEM, since these subjects tend to be more useful in the long run. While allowing students to freely choose their subjects can help them enjoy their university years, I believe that it is better to limit their choices to certain subjects, since it will greatly help them achieve financial security in the future. When students are allowed to pick majors based on their passions, they tend to enjoy going to university more, and are less likely to experience stress and burnouts throughout their studies. This is important because it greatly impacts their performance in college. Research shows that students who enjoy what they study are far less prone to fail their classes, compared who don’t. However, many students who pick majors based on passion do it impulsively without realising it, which can cause problems along the way, especially if the majors they end up choosing don’t align with their expectations. On the other side, students whose parents limit their options on subjects tend to get jobs easier after they graduate, leading them to achieve financial security faster. This is especially true in today’s society, where the job industry is increasingly competitive. In Indonesia, for example, workers who get paid above the average people often took science and technology majors in college. I believe that this is the better approach, as financial security also leads to an overall better life. In conclusion, while allowing students to study whatever they like might help them enjoy their studies more, limiting their choices to certain subjects is a better approach as it will help them get stable income in the future.