Over the last few decades, the media has promoted the image of young thin women as being ideal. What problems has this caused? What solutions can you suggest to this issue

For decades, millions of young thin women have occupied space on screen like it is destined to be this way. The continuous and repetitive promotion of slim women on mainstream media monopolizes the entire industry with false belief on the fixed body type allowed to be appeared on screen. In this essay, I would like to demonstrate problems that occur in society toward this issue along with suggested solutions to fix them. First and foremost, I will identify the negative reinforcements from single body type promotion. Undoubtedly, it discourages real-size body types appreciation, leading to an exclusion of other people who do not fit the standard displayed on screen. This has been a significant rise of stigmatization of other body shapes as an imperfection. An illustrative example is Nicola Coughlan, female protagonist of Bridgerton Season three, who received hate speech online towards her figure. There were various body -shaming comments online, accusing her as unsuitable for the role of female lead, regardless of her performance. This strongly highlights how women are mistreated and criticized, if they do not belong to the ideally thin standard. To tackle these problems, there are some practical solutions I would like to suggest. There is no greater universal solution that is better than education. Teaching people about realistic existing body figures helps raise awareness and inclusivity. It can be demonstrated as the advocational campaigns on mainstream such as Bridgerton season three. This series challenged unrealistic beauty standards by portraying a non- traditional female lead. Even Nicola Coughlan once mentioned that women with her body type do not get to see themselves onscreen enough. As a result, many women worldwide, with similar figures to Nicola, were encouraged to be proud of themselves and were more confident in their beauty as they were. In conclusion, the idealization of slim figures in the media causes problems such as exclusivity and negative labeling of other body types. However, these issues can be solved by education about realistic shapes of women's bodies and initiating campaigns to promote other body types on mainstream media.