Human activities have negative effects on plants and animal species. Some people think it is too late to do something about the problem, while others believe that effective action can be taken to improve the situation. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The negative effects on plants and animal species caused by human activities, people have different views on this. Some individuals think it is too late to solve this problem, while others believe that practical action can be implemented to improve the situation. This essay will explain why I believe it is not too late to act to improve the situation and outline my reasons. First and foremost, the poaching was widespread 20 years ago, which caused the populations of some wild animals to decrease dramatically, such as tibetan antelope, a well-known wild species that mainly lives in northwest China, on Qinghai-Tibet Plateau. In the past, illegal human hunting was not effectively controlled. After nearly two decades efforts, the government set up the Tibetan Antelope natural reserve and implemented related laws to protect them. Besides, local residents and volunteers from other cities and countries collaborate to help the species reproduce and recover their population. On the other hand, deforestation has caused various forms of pollution, such as soil erosion and desertification, which destroyed animals' habitats and endanger biological diversity. For instance, redwoods were (heavily logged in the past) harvested miserably before. However, in California, the government established Redwood National Park to conserve these trees scientifically. Over the past 100 years, more professions and organizations have been involved conservation efforts to protect and cultivate them. This park not only helps ensure the safety of redwoods, but also supports a variety of birds and other animals that live there. In a nutshell, I believe it is not too late for humans to take responsibility to protect our planet at any time. In particular, the government needs to participate in and invest more funds to establish national parks or hire professional experts and volunteers. If governments and communities can raise public awareness of conservation across all age groups, and provide more community training and courses on identifying and conserving wildlife, it will be more beneficial for the entire ecosystem in the future.