Leaders of all kinds are often younger now than in the past. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays it is becoming more common to see young people achieving leadership positions than in the past. This essay will analyze the reasons for this and discuss if it is a positive or a negative trend. Schools are preparing the young generation to dream high and reach ambitious goals. Teachers are playing a vital role to assist the student to develop social and intellectual skills more recently than it happened in the past. In addition, it can be seen the inclusion of teaching methods where the students are the center of the learning process and they can also contribute meaningfully to the discussion. This approach transforms the students into an active learner and consequently, into an independent person. The combination between active engagement with assignments where students can lead and develop their critical thinking can contribute to the growth of their leadership skills. For example, a debate class in which a student has to select essential information, formulate arguments and expose them in front of a class can improve their communication competencies and provide a sense of being a leader. Family encouragement to seek a high-standard role leads parents to contribute to the development of their children’s expertise and consequently, it motivates young people to achieve those positions. Families have a crucial role to educate their children and as most parents now can afford extracurricular lessons to their children, the young generation are exposed to all kinds of courses aiming to improve their skills since childhood. Therefore, this can expand their knowledge and provide opportunities to learn different abilities. Learning a new language, for instance, can prompt students to travel overseas and have contact with different cultures and consequently, they become more independent. While some people argue that having young leaders might be a risky and unreliable move, some believe that having a younger person in a leadership role might be a positive trend. As society is constantly advancing and evolving, a young leader might be more aware of the changes that are happening in their surroundings than an older professional. The young generation can bring innovative and modern ideas to improve a company, for example. To conclude, although people might not trust in a young maturity to be a leader or run a company, most of these young leaders were exposed to self-development classes and taught valuable skills that might assist in their position. Sometimes management requires modern and contemporary approaches in order to succeed, and fortunately young leaders can contribute meaningfully.