With the rise of the gig economy, more people are working as freelancers rather than permanent employees.Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The past century witnessed a rising trend of the gig economy. More and more people prefer working as freelancers rather than full-time employees. While this shift poses certain challenges, it also brings several benefits. From my perspective, the drawbacks are outweighed by the positive effects. First of all, freelancers can juggle their work and family life. Nowadays, temporary jobs provide great convenience to those people who have to cater for family members. Part-time jobs can not only satisfy their demands of job flexibility, but also help them get enough income to raise family, which can make balance between individual family and society. At the same time, freelancers have more freedom to try out career possibilities and develop multiple skills sets, which contribute them to strive for making the best of the situation. Another significant benefit of this trend is the improvement of career prospects. If all companies only recruit permanent employees, there may be a large number of people can not take part in any workplace for a variety of reasons. Therefore, this trend can increase the number of employable citizens and expand workforce, reducing the unemployment rate and stimulating economic growth. Admittedly, this trend may lead people to think less of job stability. However, emerging industries could provide more jobs and creat a larger number of employment opportunities. Based on the statements above, although there are some negative effects of this development, I strongly believe that they are outweighed by the positive consequences, owing to the fact that it not only helps freelancers balance their work and family, but also improves career prospects and stimulates economic growth.