Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's generation, the use of plastic products have been skyrocketed, which leads to environmental damage. The reasons behind this destruction and its potential solutions will be discussed in upcoming paragraphs. To embark with, first and foremost is that plastic waste creates soil pollution, which makes soil infertile for plants and other species of trees. For instance, plastic is the none disposable thing which stays in the land forever and due to this it hinders root growth in the soil which is necessary for nutrient absorption and plant growth. Additionally, it is also responsible for water pollution as many people throw plastic bags, bottles, and wraps near water bodies. As a result of this, microplastic mix with the water, which is supplied by the government to the community from this water sources. After drinking this contaminated water, individuals get sick because of the microplastic absorption by the organs; which can lead to organ failure. Hence, plastic can be very harmful to environment. Moreover, there are many solutions that can be implemented by the government to prevent environmental pollution. First is replacement of plastic products with the other materials such as paper bags, reusable water bottles and paper wraps. This change will not only beneficial for the environment but also for people as reusable products will be cost effective. In addition to this, government can imply strict rules and regulations to use of plastic materials and proper disposal techniques. For example, regulatory body can apply non-negotiable fine to whom, who do not follow rules. Thus, this type of action can prevent regulate the use of plastic. In conclusion, although, the use of plastic can not be prohibited fully, it can be regulated with the proper rules and regulations.