Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many people believe that universities should provide graduates with practical ability and workplace skills because this prepares them for employment. Others, however, argue that the main function of higher education should be to provide the knowledge and encourage intellectual development because knowledge is valuable in its own right. In my opinion, universities should equip graduates with a foundation of knowledge, make them capable to independently choose their career path. Body · 1 The primary function of universities is to equip students with a solid foundation regardless of the major they study. Consequently, graduates can use this knowledge and learned skill and pursue a variety of career paths, either in academia or industry. For instance, the computer science graduates may work as developers, technical support specialists, whil other could choose academic careers as scientists or researchers. This demonstrates how an educational foundation allow student to adapt to different professional environments. Body · 2 Nevertheless, nowadays, graduates need to be equipped with practical skills in order to adapt quickly to the workplace. Consequently, it increases their chances to compete with others since the employer generally prefers the job-ready candidates. In addition, the companies burden the period of time until the new employee takes time to handle professional tasks independently. In conclusion, developing practical skills through study leads to shortening the gap between graduation and entering the job market.

To conclude, the main function of universities is to design programs with a balance between providing a solid foundation and practical skills. Furthermore, empower students by enabling elective courses to tailor their study in effecient personolize way.