many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to cosume less sugar. do you agree or disagree?

It is widely recognised that the excessive consumption of sugar, which is heavily present in manufactured food and beverage, is a leading cause to global health crises, such as diabetes and obesity. Body · 1 To tackle this epidemic some argue that artificially raising the price of sugary products is the most effective solution. Body · 2 I strongly agree with this approach, because sugar intake may negatively affect both physical and mental health. Body · 3 Firstly, supermarkets often place these items at the entrance or near the check-out counter. This strategy encourages impulsive purchases, especially for people who struggle with self-control; for example, buying this type of desserts can increase the risk of diabetes. If these products were sold at higher prices, consumers would be less likely to buy them frequently, which could reduce sugar related illnesses. Body · 4 On the other hand, increasing the cost of sugary foods and drinks may create difficulties for families with limitated resources, as these families might feel pressured, leading to a more wide social compass. Body · 5 Nevertheless, governments could balance this contrast by promoting affordable healthy alternatives, decreasing the price of goods such as fruit and free-sugar drinks.

To sum up, although increasing the the price of sugary products may cause financial concerns for some groups, the overall benefits for public health are greater; By discouraging impulse buying, society can move towards healthier lifestyles. Therefore, I believe that making sugary products more expensive is a justified and effective gauge.