Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence on people's behaviour. What is your opinion?

Violence on television and in computer games has been a long-discussed topic for its potential harmful effects on the community.I partially agree with this view, as there are several factors that explain how violent content can influence behaviour, although their impact is relatively limited. This essay will provide evidence to support my opinion. On the one hand, there are several compelling reasons why this does not influence violence. First, awareness is essential, which helps one know the potential dangers one may face. For example, news talking about the surge of crime in London, this helped prevent injuries and robberies by a small percentage, due to public awareness. Second, computer games may contain violent imagery, but this causes no harm to people. For instance, in a recent study, ninety percent of people who play violent games do not experience harmful thoughts. Finally, Upbringing is another major contributor to a person's character. Numerous individuals learn values at a young age, due to a peer, or a parent, which helps people move away from violence. However, on the other hand, there are a couple of reasons for the influence of violent behaviour. Violence is being normalised in the gaming community. Gang affiliation has increased over time, due to games normalising this, For instance, there is a game which allows a person to choose a criminal group to affiliate with. Second, on live television, celebrities usually normalise criminal activities, some celebrities are often affiliated with criminals. The youth is easily influenced, which caused an involvement in a criminal organisation. In conclusion, there are a favourable number of reasons this does not lead to violence, but the other reasons should be considered. Furthermore, in my opinion, the influence on violence should not be considered since there are few.