What distinguishes young people from their parents’ or grandparents’ generation is a lack of physical exercise. Today’s generation are spending far too long playing computer games, chatting aimlessly on social networking sites or simply watching TV, and too little time being active. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Throughout the last several years, lack of exercise in the young generation from being addicted to social media, video games and TV has become one of the biggest concerns that adolescents are facing. Compared to grandparents' generation is being more active than the new generation because of the lack of technological advancement. I believe that, while there are potential positive effects, the technologies can also affect the youngster's physical health. To begin with, these technological advancements provide convenience which make adolescents become lazier. In the past, if people desired to communicate with peers, they had to get up and walk or ride a bicycle to their friend's house which was considered an exercise. While the younger generations can communicate by just moving their fingers to type texts or press the call button as this action can be done by laying in bed or anywhere. This development from technology decreases chances for teenagers to move their bodies. On the other hand, due to the popular trends of showing lifestyle on social media, some adolescents work out to obtain their desired bodies in order to show off on the internet. However, it is a minority of the new generation to be active to impress people online. Nevertheless, nowadays teenagers are less likely to play real sports. In other words, adolescents tend to play sport video games rather than play actual sports. If the older generation wanted to play sports such as football, basketball, golf or tennis in the earlier days, they had to go to sport centres and run throughout each round gaining health benefits. Nonetheless, these new generations can play football or other sports by just controlling a character to run around the court with NPCs (non-player character) with their controller, moving only their thumbs and might moving their whole body when jumping around to celebrate their victory. The proliferation of computer games makes youngsters not consider exercising by playing sports anymore. In conclusion, although advanced technology can provide some positive effects to this generation. However, it provides too much convenience which makes them become lazier and makes adolescents not consider playing sports and exercising as much as the old generations.