Some people think that employers should ensure a supportive and pleasant work environment where each employee is respected and valued equally while other think employers should focus instead on providing better facilities and equipment. What is your opinion?

Some argue that a pleasant and supportive environment provided by employers ensure that workers are respected and there is no discrimination in the workplace, whilst others contend that they should rather invest and focus on better facilities and equipment. In my opinion, creating a safe workspace where employees are valued equally is significant as it ensures high productivity and improves mental wellbeing. Firstly, companies should focus on implementing policies and ensuring the workplace for everyone is anti-discriminatory and friendly to all as this improves mental wellbeing. This means that individuals can perform well when they are valued and respected, our performance improves when we are appreciated for the job because the environment matters. Studies have indicated that companies that provide safe environment and have anti-bullying policies, the employees working there perform better and do not leave their jobs comparatively to those companies who only invest on updating their facilities. Therefore, creating friendly and anti-discriminatory environment for workers improves their mental wellbeing, which directly benefits companies and owners. Secondly, supportive and safe workspace increases the productivity of the workers as they build sense of attachment and ownership towards the company. When a employer values each and every employees for their work, they start building connection for the company, which means that they are willing to work hard for the company and are productive. Unlike companies where the environment is toxic, workers always unsatisfied and are trying to leave, which means no amount of updated equipments and services will help. This clearly demonstrates that healthy worksafe increase the productivity. Taking everything into the account, I strongly believe that healthy and supportive workplace increases the productivity and improves the mental wellbeing of workers, which also benefit employers in long-run.