It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. What do you think are the reasons for a growth in the rate of juvenile crime? What solutions can be offered to deal with this situation?

It is said that the constant exposure to social media promotes the amount of juvenile crime in society nowadays. Although there are also a host of significant problems that cause for a growth in the rate of juvenile crime, there are many detrimental solutions that can be offered to deal with this situation. One of the biggest problems is that regular exposure to violence in the media can affect young people ’s attitudes and behaviour. This is because regular exposure reduces emotional response to violence, making it seem normal or acceptable and young people may imitate violence actions seen in media, leading to aggressive tendencies of behaviours in individuals especially young people who are underaged. This could be prevented by the viewing time of violent films and online games. Another problem is lack of parental guidance which can lead teenagers to delinquency. Peer pressure and gangs can exert an adverse influence on the young. This could be addressed by parents setting clear guidelines and rules by parents to encourage in taking an active good role model in their child’s life. The third problem is lack of interest and direction which can lead youngsters astray. This can be prevented by organising more interesting and involving extracurricular activities by schools. Parents also encourage youngsters to take up a sport or a hobby. The final problem states that domestic violence can force young people onto the streets and into bad company. To tackle this issue, the government should have supervised social clubs where youths can go in their free time. In addition, Setting up more helplines and support groups for young people from troubled family backgrounds prevent imitation violent actions for young adults. To sum up, although it is clear that an increase in juvenile crime can be resulted from a range of problems, it is undoubtedly possible to start to address these issues by taking up new hobbies and following clear supervised guidelines and rules.