In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

With temperatures reaching an all-time high in many countries, some ministers are preferring to have longer summer holidays that last for more than two months at a time. But, many specialists are debating if longer summer holidays are doing more harm than good to the children's learning outcomes. In one hand, it is found in a study done by Oxford University, where they tracked primary and secondary students of different countries and measured their learning outcomes at the end of each school year, that children in countries who have longer summer breaks, often more than not, learn more during the school year. Dr John Smith stated that " Children in countries who close schools for more than two months in summer are more developed than children from countries that have shorter summer breaks". This is due to the struggles of anxiety and the prolonged exam seasons that hinder these students' mental capacity to learn even more. On the other hand, children development specialist Tom Felming argues that children who have shorter summer breaks, mainly in early elementary level, forget some of the basics they learned in school, like writing some words or reading some phrases. That is made even worse if they did not practice some of these skills during the holiday, since it's a detrimental stage in the learning development of these children. In summary, both short and long holidays have advantages and disadvantages on children's learning progress, and whether it is better to have either, specialists said, depends on the age group and the learning stage these children are currently in.