The crime rate among teenagers has increased dramatically in many countries. Discuss some possible reasons for this increase and suggest solutions. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In recent times, criminal offences committed by teenagers have increased drastically. This rise is due to the poor economical status of the world, and can only be solved by systemic efforts to reduce the financial burdens placed upon the next generation. The middle class is the most underpowered it has been in centuries. During the industrial revolution, many jobs were available, giving young adults the ability to make an affordable living. Due to the exorbitant inflation rates we are currently experiencing, it is nearly impossible to purchase a house in certain countries, even if one works their entire life. Thus, young adults are more likely to turn to drastic measures in order to be able to afford a good living. For example, a friend of mine had to resort to selling narcotics when I lived in the United States, because his father left him as a child and he had to take care of himself and his two sisters. A traditional job did not make enough, thus he resorted to crime in order to make ends meet. The government is at a major fault for these issues, and must help balance the wealth gap, in order to tackle this issue. With a more unregulated market than ever, the wealthy continue to accumulate the bulk of wealth. As a consequence of this, the middle and lower class receive less of this income. Therefore, higher taxation rates on the richer population could be a feasible solution, in order to redistribute this wealth. For instance, in Scandinavian nations, there are extremely high taxation rates, which are used to give huge subsidies to struggling citizens. This allows them to have enough stability to survive, despite the harsh economic climate of Europe. In conclusion, the current financial market does not offer many opportunities to the younger population, endorsing them to commit crimes in search of a better life. Institutional support for the younger generation must be more substancial in order to tackle this issue effectively.