More and more people today are drinking sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons for this? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

It is true that sugary drinks are being consumed by more and more people today. This can be attributed to several factors, which calls for possible solutions to be adopted. There are several explanations as to why more people drink sugar-based drinks. One possibility is that soft-drink companies heavily promote their product in order to increase the consumption. In fact, when people constantly exposed to marketing videos on media or billboards, they are more likely to be tempted to buy such drinks. Another point worth mentioning is that the modern lifestyle contribute to this trend. This is beacause several busy workers nowadays are faced with a demanding workload, there by choosing energy drinks to stay awake and boost their energy instantly. Various measure, nevertheless, can be implemented to address these issue. The first possible solution is that goverment should impose restrictions on advertising coke or other sugary beverages to decrease the consumption of these unhealthy products. For example, banning such commercials during prime-time on television can reduce the public's exposure to these unhealthy products and thus prevents people from impulse buying. The second approach is that companies can take measures to reformulate their drinks with less sugar. For instance, zero-sugar coke helps customers decrease sugar intake. While many reasons can be given to explain the increase in number of people consuming sugar-based drinks, step can be taken to improve the situation.