The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advance technology which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that in today's fast-paced world, cutting edge technology that helps fight against crime triggers a huge decrease in crime rates compared to the past. While some people believe that there is no strong evidence that shows a decrease in crime rates due to advanced technology, I strongly argue that modern technology is an effective tool that monitors public areas and helps collect valuable information, which can deter criminal behaviours. This essay will elaborate on my position with relevant arguments and examples. The foremost reason to support my view is that monitoring public areas with the help of technology is a crackdown on criminals, which was not possible in the past. This is because surveillance systems can detect any potential criminal activity that can be prevented immediately by police officers, or it can help identify the criminals after they committed a crime in those areas. In addition, the algorithm they use in those systems allows police officers to identify whether criminals have a gun, which can prevent officers from any potential crisis in public. As a result, offenders cannot find a space where they can hide or escape from the public forces. For instance, metropolitan cities, such as Montreal and Toronto, the government invests an enormous amount of money in surveillance systems that can work simultaneously with police patrols, allowing forces to focus on criminal activities in parks and downtown, and these systems demonstrate significant results, leading to a huge decrease in crime rate. Therefore there is a strong positive link between crime determination and modern technological tools. Another reason to justify my stance is that post- crime process and data have a great impact on crime rate. Data collection, supported by modern technology, allows public forces to identify offenders. However, the data is complex, which requires advanced tools to solve crime files. Modern technology can help understand the complexity and it generates notable results such as fingerprint identification. As a result, criminals have difficulty committing a crime because of the probability of being sentenced. To illustrate, in the USA, public forces use AI technology to create a criminal image of a possible offender after investigation, resulting in a decrease in crime rate because offenders cannot see hope to escape the aftermath of committing a crime. Thus, these advanced tools can prevent criminals from committing a crime. In conclusion, although the government implements stricter regulations, criminals can escape and break the rules easily. However, advanced technology can decrease crime rates, enabling public forces to identify offenders before or after a crime occurs. I firmly maintain that modern technology helps track potential criminals in public areas and collect vital information from areas where a crime occurs.