In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

There is an ongoing debate about whether primary and secondary school students should have two months or more of summer holidays. This essay will discuss the value of long school holidays and explain why some people support shorter school holidays. To begin with, some people believe that long summer holidays greatly benefit students because they can take a break from demanding academic subjects, such as mathematics, science, and languages. This is very important because relaxation helps students concentrate better before getting back to school. Another advantage is that students are more likely to gain a deeper understanding of their own interests because they have enough time to develop hobbies during summer holidays. As a result, students have sufficient time to recharge their energy and pay attention to developing individual hobbies, which helps them lead balanced lives and maintain mental health. On the other hand, some people think that shorter summer holidays are beneficial for students because they keep students in a regular learning routine, which makes it easier for them to maintain their academic performance. Another reason is that shorter holidays can make life easier for working parents, especially as two-income families have become more common in modern society, because they cannot stay home to look after their children during long holidays. Therefore, parents may need to pay for childcare or ask relatives for help. To sum up, some people believe that long holidays should be provided in primary and secondary schools because they enable students to take a break and develop new hobbies, while others consider that shorter holidays can help students maintain academic performance and reduce parents' burden.