Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Old buildings not only are still useful, but also keep the history alive. Not all of them have enough history to say that it's better to maintain it. In my opinion only the buildings that really involve nation's history could be maintain, because its will remain to the people the traditions, culture, and stories that relavant people lived before, and this is part of the formal education of each person. Most of the countries of the world at least have important people that help to constructed the nation, or fight for the independence, or are just important because They changed the social, political, economical or even musical environment of their countries. When people see the places where this people lived and where they develop their acts, these places or buildings help to reconstruct the stories and are useful for imagine how was the situation before. So every time that people will see This buildings or monuments they are able to remain the history and also learn about it. Finally nowadays human beings are capable to maintain this buildings in good conditions, even they can modernize them but without change their principal structure and fronts. On the other hand it's true that the cities of the world have to continue with its development. Therefore they have to build new buildings that allow people work with better and modern environments that let them work efficiently and also that offer development resources. New buildings brings new technologye as well, that could improve the efficiency, productivity and production of different companies, organizations, shops, offices, etc. In conclussion some buildings would be knocked down to make way progress and development. However that old buildings that have important history for human beings should be maintain. If we knocked down these buildings we would knocked down our traditions, culture, history and even some part of our lives.