Some people believe that old buildings, such as town halls and art galleries, should be restored, even though this can be costly. Others argue that governments should replace them with new, modern buildings. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People have different opinions when it comes to preserving old buildings like town halls and art galleries. While some people believe that it should be restored, despite the cost, others believe that it should be replaced with new and modern buildings. I personally feel it should be preserved; however, not at the expense of other major priorities. Individuals supporting the preservation of old sculptures argue that these buildings preserve history. This is because these buildings connect with the past. By restoring these buildings materials and artifacts, next generation could feel the type of materials used in past, and also they can compare those structural designs to present building models. If youth could see that uniqueness, they are more likely to be more proud of history. For example, Ajanta Caves in India depicts the rich architectural design used by the workers at that time, attracting the people from different country to witness that monument. Consequently, providing knowledge of historical facts and its preservation. On the other side, people holding an opinion to replace these old buildings with new and modern ones believe that money should be spent on other major facilities like healthcare. Cost of restoration is sometimes huge as compared to building a new building. Healthcare is the basic requirement for everyone. By saving the big amount, which was supposed to be invested on those old buildings, now could be utilized to improve the infrastructure and hiring more staff in hospitals. This would provide better medical facilities. As a result, people would not struggle to find affordable and good hospitals. For example, government of Dubai decided to spent a significant amount of money on healthcare, deducting the allocation from restoration budget of old building. To conclude, old buildings provides lot of information about history, and keep the youth attach to culture. However, I believe this should not come at the expense of money that could be utilized for priority sectors like healthcare. Cost of repair is sometimes more than to create a new building, which could be spent wisely to improve medical facilities.