Some people believe that government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce congestion,others think that building more and wider roads is the best way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Individuals have different opinions on government investments when it comes to rail or road transport. While some people argue to invest more on building trains and subway lines, others believe that more investment should be done to construct more and broader roads. This essay will discuss both the views before concluding spending money on rails network is more worthy to reduce traffic problem. On one side, proponents of thought to spend more money on expanding trains and subways believe that railways are preferred by large number of population. It is because this method of commuting is cost-efficient. As people can travel longer distance in less price for ticket, they save money on travelling. As a result, more people preferred to travel via trains. In addition, railways are safer. This is due to facts that trains runs on the independent tracks. Running on independent tracks, trains do not have to suffer from frequent collision, which means less blockage because of accidents. Therefore, this reduces the traffic congestion problem. For example, with the introductions of metro in Delhi, government of Delhi reported a significant decrease in traffic collision report, resulting in less traffic on report. On the other side, people who believe spending government budget more on expanding and constructing more roads are vital to reduce traffic because wider and more roads can accompany more vehicles. This is because traffic is caused because of more loads on the available lanes to drive. Sometimes lanes are closed due to construction, or accidents, which results in load on the less number of lanes available. If there were more available lanes or wider lanes, than there would be extra space to accommodate the traffic flow. For example, in single lane roads, if there would be one extra lane, people would not have to wait to clear the road after the accidents to move their vehicle. As a result, there would be less traffic congestion. To conclude, government could invest to improve the roads width and introducing more lanes to avoid traffic; however, I still believe money should be spend first on improving the rail network as this reduces the burden on roads and are cost efficient. Therefore, less chances of collision, resulting in less traffic problem.