In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people consumes everything faster according to past. That’s why companies want to advertise their products, such as state-of-the-art products. I think it is negative development for our environment for two reasons: when production is growing dramatically, our world is polluted more, and it increases depression among people. Firstly, all companies produce tons of new products every year, although they don’t introduce a new innovation for their product. Business used to invest to new cutting-edge technologies. Production rate was low; however, product qualities had been increasing every year. In contrast, the quality of everything dropped dramatically in the last years, although production is rapidly growing. Furthermore, depression rates are increasing these days. It may looks irrelevant; however, when people started consuming rapidly and living in fast-pace life, they can’t be satisfied easily anymore. This situation affects people ’s motivation and mental health considerably, because our dopamine system is affected by every new product and technology. For instance, Apple which is one of the most famous technology brand; produces new iPhones each year, and people race with each others to buy these brand-new phones, even if they are poor. When they can’t own these gadgets, they start feeling depressive. Consequently, we should act more reasonably and we shouldn’t be affected by new advertisements and influencers who promote new products. Moreover, companies should focus more on quality, rather than quantity. However, it is very though situation for stakeholders these days; because when they produce thousands of new gadgets every year, although they include previous technologies, they gain more money, because customers buy more. Overall, we can call this situation as double-edge sword. According to my opinion, business should find a balance between quality and quantity.