In some countries, community service is increasingly being used instead of prison sentences for minor crimes. Is this a positive or negative development?

Recently, some countries have been using community services as a punishment for minor criminals rather than sentencing them. While this trend have several negative outcomes, I believe that its positive consequences are far more significant. One major drawback of offenders who work in community services is that they could threaten public safety. Were governments to regulate community -based punishment, there would be some chances for offenders to be more free to communicate with other people and behave independently. Unless police officer controled their behaviour strictly, offenders would be more likely to act in a violent manner and cause some troubles for the society. For instance, they might attempt to threat people and escape during work hours. This, in turn, would ultimately lead to concerns of residents about reoffenders to risk their security. This demonstrates that regulating community -based punishment might give a rise to reoffenders, which places a pressure on public safety. However, one compelling argument in favour of using community services as a penalty for a criminals is that this initiative could improve offender rehabilitation rates. When criminals are able to go out for a limited hours for only work purposes in a day, they will reintegrate into community and watch people who have authority to spend their time in the ways they want. In turn, criminals will realise the importance of having freedom and rights, which leads them to repent their crimes. Recent breakthrough have found that a considerable number of criminals who were in upaid community work managed to redirect their mindset and lead meaningful lives with contributing to the society. Taken together, non-custodial sentences play a crucial role in rehabilitating and integrating criminals into the community. In conclusion, although using non-custodial sentences for minor offenders contribute to some negative consequences, in my opinion, beneficial effects provided by this initiative are more important.