Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Hence, sugary products should be taxed to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Nowadays, most people are consuming ready-made food and drink products and many processed foods and drinks contain large amount of sugar. Although a small amount of sugar does not cause health issues, however, eating too much can lead to risk of health problem such as obesity, type 2 diabetes and cardiovascular disease. Some people argue that the manufacturers should make more expensive sugary products which in turn would reduce consumption. I partly agree with this opinion or partly disagree because rising the product price is not the only way to encourage people to use less sugar products, and in this essay, I will present the reasons for my viewpoint. The first reason for holding to my view is that people doesn't have enough time to prepare home-made food and drinks, so avoiding to consume the processed food is very hard to them. This can later become a habit. Because of this point, increasing the cost of sugary products can notify people to be aware not to buy unhealthy items. In fact, the more expensive the product is, the less demand to purchase. Another reason for my view is that alternatively, the best way to encourage people to choose the more healthy items and discourage eating processed foods and drinks. Indirectly, the authority can educate community and schools to choose healthy meals through the programmes and campaigns. For example, in Singapore, The Ministry of Health (MOH) and the Health Promotion Board (HPB) educate the community through Nutri-Grade labelling system, public mass media campaigns, and community partnerships programmes. In addition, Healthy Meals in Schools (HMSP) programme encourages healthier food and beverage choices in schools by providing food service guidelines such as cutting down fat, sugar and sodium, serving wholegrain, fruit and vegetables and serving healthy set meals. In summary, although making sugary products more expensive could encourage people to consume less sugar, but this method alone not enough to succeed. A combination of higher prices, education, and awareness is the best way to reduce sugar consumption and protect people for long-term plan for their lifetime and improvement of public health.