Modern medical science has made it possible to combat many diseases. This is one reason that people are living longer lives now than they did in the past. Discuss the effects this might have on society.

Nowadays, advances in medicine have achieved great successes when it comes to treating diseases. As a result, people have a better quality of life and their life expectancy increases significantly. However, it also carries consequences and challenges for governments and international organizations, as it impacts considerably on the economy, politics and welfare of modern societies. In this essay, I will address the main effects of these medical advancements on society. Firstly, modern medicine along with health policies have changed the lives of millions. From pharmacological discoveries to sophisticated surgeries, medicine has played a key role in the prevention and treatment of diseases. In this scenario, the elderly are projected with much more vitality and performance than before, allowing them to leave their work later and spend more time with their families. A study by the National Institute of Statistics shows that 1 in 3 older adults of retirement age prefer to continue working because they feel healthy and capable, which shows that many elderly people can extend their professional careers and continue to produce for the market thanks to modern medicine. Secondly, there is also a concern on the part of governments regarding the proportion of young and older people as births are decreasing and countries are starting to age at an accelerated pace. In this sense, it points to the inability of the pension system to be supplied by young workers, because there will be few young people working and many old with pensions to finance. The United Nations organization communicates that it is up to governments to implement policies in this new reality, seeking to restructure a system that adapts to new needs, in a world where people will live more and more. Are highlighted, for example, an incentive to retirement for older adults seeking to secure jobs for young people, as well as promoting campaigns for birth. In conclusion, having a longer-lived population poses great challenges. Among them the ability of the system to economically support this group of people, as well as to devise plans that favor social welfare as a whole, integrating other sectors of the population within policies to create a system that works at another pace, but that ensures a livelihood for all.