Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over the past few decades, car ownership rose considerably, that the majority of the cities in the world are called ‘one big traffic jam’. From my point of view, the claim that cities transformed in ‘one big traffic jam’ is accurate, and governments could take the right measurements in order to convince people to stop using their cars.

To begin with, the fact that cities are ‘one immense traffic jam’ is highly accurate. Nowadays, every single citizen owns a car, and it is very tough to move through congested traffic or streets. Furthermore, especially this situation is getting worse in small cities. For instance, in Chisinau, where I live, there are daily infernal traffics, and it is even harder for vehicles to navigate, once the city is small, and there are no convenient alternative roads. Moreover, this can happen usually in the peak times of the day, it can be whether in the morning when people go to work or in the evening when they arrive home. The drivers are stuck in heavy traffics jams for hours, instead of reaching to their destinations in 20-30 minutes.

Nevertheless, the governments should have a range of measurements to reduce car usage. They can encourage citizens to use public transport more or to ride a bike. However, this can be done, if the authorities will do the necessary implementations. To illustrate, the buses need to have facilities, such as air conditioning, more seats and USB charging ports. This will make the journey enjoyable, and will be a perfect alternative for cars. In addition, there must be bike lanes. There are cities where riding a bike is not practical, so there are no special designed bike lanes, but this should be a must, including parking lots. In this way, it will be another option for people to commute by bike to avoid traffics, whenever they have to go to work, school, or to run errands.

To conclude, the cities called `one big traffic jam’ become crowder and not manageable. However, this issue can be solved if the state make the best actions.