In order to solve traffic problems government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transport system. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

A suggested opinion to resolve traffic issues is imposing high taxes on vehicle owners for the purpose of using that money for developing public transportation systems and services. This essay will examine the merits and drawbacks of the presented solution.

Initially, the quality of public transport will enhance after allocating the finances received from motor tax to the development of buses and trams; in other words, individuals will be satisfied with switching from private cars to public transport. In addition, fossil fuel consumption will drastically drop, the primary reason being that instead of 30 cars wasting non-renewable energy, vehicle owners are transported on one large bus. For instance, recent statistics from Riyadh College revealed that demand on petrol decreased by approximately 27 per cent after the operation of the metropolitan and buses across the city.

However, this decision will spread uncertainty toward car companies, because sales will decline after the application of that law; to put it differently, a large proportion of them will close their factories and leave the country, which will raise unemployment and hence the economy will face recession. A clear example of this can be seen in Ireland, where the consultants board agreed to tax people owning a private vehicle. As a result, 12 motor businesses departed from Ireland and 21 thousand employees were dismissed.

In conclusion, tax imposition on car owners will heavily optimise public transportation services and reduce carbon emissions from cars. However, it will harm the economy indirectly because motor companies will mostly leave and fire thousands of workers.