Topic: Some people believe that the best way to solve the problem of traffic congestion in cities is to make public transport free for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are numerous pressing issues faced worldwide. Traffic congestion in one amongst them. It is suggested by some individuals that in order to control traffic, the government should apply heavy duties on private owned vehicles. This essay intends to discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of a given scenario followed by relevant illustrations.

To commence with, there are numerous advantages of imposing heavy tax on private vehicles.The most conspicuous is smooth and efficient journey. This means, with less number of vehicles on roads leads to reduced traffic jams and traffic congestion, which results in reduced journey time and effective travel. For instance, a survey conducted by GFBY, in 2024 enunciated that with applying heavy taxes on private cars, the number of cars on roads will reduced by 75%. Moreover, utilising funds in construction of public transportation will strengthen the infrastructure of public transportation. To explain, renovating public infrastructure will result in improved quality of services provided by buses and trains. Therefore,the government should impose heavy duties on private vehicles and utilise that money in order to improve public transport to ensure effective journeys and quality service.

However, on the conflicting side there are some drawbacks as well. The first and foremost is the economic disadvantage. This means, as transportation plays a crucial role in the growth of the economy and contributes a large amount of profit resulting in reduced revenue generation especially in sales of cars.Adding to this, this can also be acts as a forced action by the government towards the public, as by doing this public while travelling in public transportation lacks in comfort and security which leads to uncomfortable and unsafe travels of individuals.

To cite an example from my personal life, I do not feel safe and comfortable while travelling in public transportation as I do not prefer to travel with unknown people and after travelling in buses i feel exhausted and irritated. Thus, neither the public, nor the economy is benefitted from imposing heavy taxes on private owned vehicles.

That being said, this scenario has both advantages such as reduced travel time and good infrastructure and disadvantages as it not only affects the revenue generation, but also comfort of the public

.