People nowadays put more emphasis on social skills. Some people believe that social skills are more important in addition to good qualifications for job success. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate regarding whether social skills are more important than good qualifications in job careers. A group of individuals believe that social skills play a pivotal role in achieving career success. However, others argue that good qualifications are key to job success. Therefore, ahead of my opinion, both views will be discussed further.

Examining the former opinion, the primary argument supporters put forward is that social skills play a significant role in personal life. This is because individuals who have good social abilities always helps employees work well in teams and build professional relationships. For instance, workers have a presentation about some products but struggle when employees with good communication skills can explain their ideas clearly and avoid misunderstandings with their colleagues. However, people are able to create career opportunities and solve conflicts in an easy way. In addition, they believe that strong soft skills can contribute significantly to job success and enhance critical thinking function.

On the contrary, those in favour of the latter opinion have their own arguments. To begin with, they claim that the value of good qualifications should not be underestimated. Having high qualifications provide specialised knowledge and technical skills. In some professions, such as medicine, engineering and teaching, appropriate qualifications are essential because employees need specialised knowledge to perform their duties safely and effectively. Furthermore, good qualifications help candidates stand out when applying for competitive positions.

To conclude, there are convincing arguments that both social skills and good qualifications play a crucial role in job success. However, I believe that both are equally necessary for professional development in the workplace.