Some people believe that governments should spend more money on public transport, while others think that building more roads is a better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate over whether the government should invest in building more roads or allocate more funds to public transport to combat traffic congestion. While expanding the road network has some benefits, such as reducing traffic congestion, I believe that improving public transport is more effective because it can reduce congestion and allow people with financial difficulties to travel around the city at a lower cost.

Some people say that the government should spend more money to build new roads, because it combats the traffic congestion. In many countries, there are huge traffic jams, especially during the rush-hours, because of small roads prticularly in the centre of the city.As populations grow, the number of vehicles in cities is likely to increase significantly, meaning that urban areas will require expanded road infrastructure. For example, in my hometown, the rapid growth in car ownership has made many central streets overcrowded. Building new roads and parking zones could be a great solution for that since it increases the capacity of the city.

On the other hand, some individuals believe that allocating more money to public transport is more productive, because it reduces the traffic, while allowing for idividuals to travel more comfortably. More and more people are buying cars to travel to their work and study because of the low quality of the public transport system, and it significantly increases the traffic. Improving the quality of public transport by reducing waiting times, increasing comfort and providing dedicated bus lanes could encourage people to use public transport rather than purchase cars, because it is more cost-effective than using private cars. Take Japan as an example,which has invested a huge amount of money in its rail and bus networks and made public transport more accessible than cars. As a result, people began using public transport more frequently instead of travelling by private car, and it leaded to deacrese in traffic congestion.

In conclusion, while building new roads can have some advantages such as decreasing the traffic, I believe that investing in a public transport system is more productive, sinceit not only reduces traffic congestion but also allows individuals to travel more comfortably and encourages people to use it more frequently.