Q. As the world becomes technologically advanced, computers are replacing more and more jobs. Describe some job positions that may be lost because of computers, and discuss at least one problem that may result.

Due to technological advancement, an increasing number of professions will disappear, overtaken by computers. In this essay I will give examples of jobs that are being replaced by modern technologies, like artificial intelligence, and the consequential problems that might arise.

Firstly, before the advent of modern tools like artificial intelligence, software development was considered the field of the future. It was widely believed that knowing how to code would have give young people better job prospects and career opportunities. In constrast, nowadays a raising number of software developers lost their position to AI. For example, recent news shown that META fired many software developers in the last three years.

In addiction, modern technologies can be applied also in the industry field, putting in danger the jobs of many. For instance, with the introduction of complex machines with robotic arms, human workers are becoming more and more unnecessary, since a machine can work twice as fast and for longer time. As an example, one can think of people who work in packaging, who will soon be completely replaced by modern tools.

Lastly, It is important to mention people who work in artistic fields, such as designers or musicians. In fact, modern technologies, are today able to create a product from scratch, free of charge and instantly, making human workers useless. Tools like Chat GPT are, for instance, able to create a song in the matter of minutes.

I believe this trend will create great problems in our society. To begin with, the unemployment rate will dramatically rise, leading to consequential issues such as poverty and homelessness. Moreover, social tensions will arise, due to an increased level of discontent among people. Finally, the advent of modern technologies, even without considering the jobs that will be replaced, will create a gap between generations, excluding older people from many job positions.

In conclusion, while I believe scientific and technological advancement to be overall beneficial for our society, It is undeniable that many job positions will be overtaken by computers, with consequential problems of unemployment, discontent and social tentions.