In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many countries have become more industrialised than before, and this can have a detrimental impact on the city population. Therefore, economic and business sectors in the city centre are considered to relocate to suburban and rural areas. While there are some drawbacks of this situation, I firmly believe that the benefits of moving them out of the cities are far overwhelming and far outweigh the negative aspects.

Firstly, were industrial infrastructure to be built in different regions, it would be difficult for citizens to get access to the necessary things in one place. Unlike an economic centre where everything from buying a share to starting up a new career is possible, the emergence of regional businesses means city-dwellers need to commute to different places, which can be a disturbance. Secondly, as they travel long distances for work, it might be both a time and energy-consuming activity for them. Moreover, it can also lead to traffic congestion and excessive use of vehicles during rush hours.

However, despite these potential negative aspects of regional business centres, I contend that the positive aspects exceed them significantly. One main positive aspect is that the city will definitely become an environmentally-friendly space as industrial areas make way for more green and blue spaces where residents can unwind. Additionally, it can also boost local economies and innovation. Entrepreneurs from different parts of the country will probably have opportunities to start up their own business in their town where there is a market demand.

To conclude, although there could be certain demerits of having factories outside the cities, in my view, the merits of placing them in local areas far outweigh them. Therefore, it would be immensely helpful for both community and environment if industrial zones are regionally situated.