Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years there has been growing debate among educators on whether subjects without attaintments, such as music, drama or art and craft, should be mandatory in secondary schools. Some teachers agree with the previous statement, as they believe that such activities can be beneficial for students ' academic achievement. In contrast, I would argue that subjects that do not require formal examination should be elective, because not essential to pupils' education.

Firstly, while it is true that arts-based subjects can have a positive impact on students ' creativity and well-being, it is important to recognise that many children may not have any interest in these subjects. For instance, some pupils would rather focus on core scientific courses, such as math, physics or science. Even though, also the opposite could be argued (children not interested in scientific courses), one must consider that good attaintments in core subjects are essential for academic achievement, and therefore, for pupils' academic advancement to further or higher education. By contrast, artistic subjects are not essential for students ' curriculum.

Another important consideration is that mandatory presence to arts courses will result in decreased time spent studying other subjects. This could be detrimental to students ' overall performace, as their academic results depend on formal examinations and course assessments. For example, if music class is held in the afternoon, and it last two hours, these two hours can not be spent studying for tests or doing research.

In conclusion, although following arts-based subjects can have some advantages, I believe that these courses should not be mandatory. Students should focus on core subjects with attaintments, which are esential for accademic achievement, and therefore important to have better job prospects and career opportunities.