Many aspects of the way people dress today are influenced by global fashion trends. How has global fashion become such a strong influence on people’s lives? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Modern fashion has been hugely impacted on people in today’s globalized world.There are several factors attributed to changing fashion trends. I believe it is largely a negative development because it can pose a threat to both an individual country’s culture and the environment.

Back in the time, purchasing clothing was not as easy as today due to lack of technology and convenient transportation system. However, people nowadays can make a purchase for things online with just one click, and those will be delivered to their home without having to travel to different parts of the globe. Moreover, there have been a variety of choices and these new fashion trends are constantly exposed to people in many different ways such as movies and social media platforms. It is difficult for them to resist the temptation and it may lead to market demand. As a result, there are massive productions of trendy clothing, which create fast fashion trends around the world.

Constantly changing clothing designs can influence the way people around the world choose to wear. For example, in Myanmar, people rarely wear their traditional attire apart from special occasions and fast fashion from Korea, China and Thailand is extremely popular among young adults. As clothing is a part of a nation’s culture, it is important to pass it down from generation to generation so as not to lose a country’s identity. In addition, people wear those clothes only for one or two times and they have a tendency to continue buying in order to keep up with global trends. This can negatively affect the environment not only because of resource consumption to make clothes but also piles of discarded clothes.

In conclusion, modern fashion trends spread quickly around the world through social networking sites and the internet. I regard its overall impact as negative since it undermines the importance of cultural values and ecosystem.