As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Job satisfaction plays a crucial role in individuals well being because most adults spend the majority of time at work. This essay will examine how job satisfaction can be affected by working hours and income and also discuss if some worker’s expectations of job satisfaction are realistic. Job satisfaction is affected by various factors and income is the prominent factor which contributes to it as the main purpose of work for us is to maintain our daily life and improve our living conditions by earning more money. In addition, maintaining a work -life balance is also essential because the length of working hours is significant to the job satisfaction. To illustrate, a recent study conducted in Japan has revealed that nearly 80% of people are working in stressful conditions because working overtime is ubiquitous, so they always struggle to seperate act as a barrier between; stand between separate their personal time and work time. As a result, how much we are paid and how many hours we work are main components related to job satisfaction. The level of job satisfaction is also decided by our expectations so we tend to be disappointed if the reality couldn’t reach our expectations. For example, I used to have this unrealistic job expectation that being highly paid in an easy job. People need to realize that our income can normally reflect our meaningful contributions to the society so being realistic is also the key to maintaining a high level of satisfaction. To sum up, job satisfaction is vital for us. This essay explained some factors that contribute to job satisfaction, including financial rewards and working hours. This essay also discussed why some worker’s expectations are unrealistic.