Some people believe that longer holidays must be given to employees so that they do heir job better. To what extent do you agree?

As humans, we all need a break from our hectic schedules and employees are no exception in this matter. While I believe that the above statement is true, it may not always be worth giving a longer holiday to the employees. Firstly, employers must offer fringe benefits such as extended holidays to employees so as to motivate them to do better. A highly motivated employee is likely to perform much better than one who has a significantly low willpower. Additionally, viewing this issue in an everyday context, we know for a fact that ordinary people are also more determined to complete a given task if they are bound by a promise- to receive a reward upon the successful completion of the task. Hence, it is evident that an employee who is motivated with the much needed lengthy break would be more dedicated and employers can surely benefit from their input. On the other side of the coin, if a holiday extension is offered to employees, they may become less serious about the work they do. For instance, an employee who has just returned from a 2 week holiday may have lost touch with their everyday works and may simply not be in the mood to resume their mundane routine. This is because they become resistant to holidays and gradually lose interest in work, resulting in a need for kick-start activities or the provision of financial incentives to keep them on-track. Consequently, business expenditure may escalate and employers may eventually incur a loss. In a nutshell, I strongly believe that non-financial incentives like extra holidays must be offered to employees in order to keep their spirits high and encourage them to excel in all aspects of work life. That being said, employers must also be aware of the aftermath effects that may surface up post a long break from their job.