Small town center shops are running out of business because rural residents tend to go shopping in big cities store. To what extent do the disadvantages of this development outweigh the advantages?

Rural residents going for shopping in big city stores are resulting in small town centre shops running out of business. Exposure to new products may be argued as an advantage, but the detrimental effect of the products not being used locally and the fact that sometimes the same product may be available at a higher rate in cities cannot be ignored. The Rural economy is predominantly dependent on local consumption. As a result of people going to the local shops to buy all their needs, these shops are able to make profits and the products consumed locally. To illustrate, studies reveal that about 80% of the rural population buy all their things locally. However, with the current tendencies for going to bigger cities for shopping, local produce is not being used, resulting in an impact on the rural economy. Another effect of people not buying locally is that the small shop owners are now forced to sell the produce to the cities through middlemen. Consequently, the rates are increased. For example, the same pair of shirts would cost almost twice in a city shop than in the local rural market. A general argument is that by shopping in big cities, the villagers are exposed to the latest items and they get to choose from lot of variety. For instance, they may be able to get the latest fertilizers which would benefit them. While this can be seen as an advantage, it is minimal when compared to all the negative effects. In conclusion, there may be some advantages to buying at big city store. On the other hand, the disadvantages are far more than the advantages. While ensuring that small shops do not close down, the government should take measures to make the latest products available to rural residents.