In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking has been banned in public places like parks, hospitals, public transport and restaurants in many nations. This essay agrees with this initiative because it reduces the harmful effects of passive smoking and also encourages smokers to quit. The primary reason why making it illegal to smoke in public makes sense is preventing people from having to breathe in second-hand smoke. Passive smoking can lead to many smoking-related diseases such as lung cancer, heart disease and stroke, and is something that non- smokers cannot avoid in the presence of a smoker. The British Medical Association found that non- smokers who were regularly exposed to tobacco smoke were 4 times more likely to develop lung cancer, than those who did not have to breathe in second-hand smoke. The second main reason is that this ban helps those addicted to cigarettes quit their habit. When smokers and non- smokers socialise together, the smokers are often ostracised from the group because they have to leave the company of everyone else if they want to light up. As a result, smokers who decided to quit would feel more a part of the social gatherings they attend, and this shouldould encourage people who smoke to give it up. This has proven particularly effective in Ireland, the first country to introduce a nationwide ban, where people have to leave a bar or restaurant and smoke outside. In conclusion, making it against the law to smoke around strangers should be encouraged because it prevents innocent people from dying of passive smoking and reduces the number of smokers.