Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy, and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a view held by a few individuals that because of increasing college expenditure, and decreasing job opportunities, universities should refrain from teaching humanities subjects like philosophy, and history. Instead, they must focus on practical degree courses that would increase the chances of employment. I disagree with the view held and would elaborate on my reasons. Students choose their career path while at school. When they leave the institution to study further, they have a set goal in mind. Hence, they take subjects based on their abilities to cope with studies that will help them further with a career. A university is but an institution, which offers only the best to its prospects. Studies beyond collegiate education have always been expensive. When pupils decide on the occupation, they want to engage with, they simultaneously focus, on the education required to achieve the goal. Although there are limitations with philosophy, and history as a career choice, it is easier now to flip fields with these backgrounds. For example: A graduate in history can also find a job as a research analyst apart from being an archaeologist. These branches of study are not limited to just one field. On the contrary courses like medicine, and engineering is often lucrative due to the money earned. But, these often are difficult for people struggling with numbers and excessive studies. Every human being has a unique intellectual capacity. It cannot be the case where because employment with art’s subjects is low that people will opt for something beyond their capability. In conclusion, employment is not limited it is the skill set that do not match.