In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

The use of surveillance cameras as crime deterrence is indeed being increased in many places around the world. Although some argue that these measures violate people’s privacy, I believe that the beneficial effects of increasing security using video cameras do outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, the use of security cameras is considered an invasion of privacy. Whether they are walking down the street, driving in their car or hanging out with friends, they are being monitored with cameras placed in public. This makes some people feel uncomfortable knowing that they are watched by someone. Moreover, it is not possible to completely protect public security systems from hackers. The value of CCTV information has increased, resulting in a higher risk from hackers which lead to privacy issues, such as images captured by CCTV distributed across the Internet. On the other hand, I believe that using surveillance cameras is a positive measure. Catching criminals is one of the best benefits of security cameras in public places. If a crime is committed in an area where a public surveillance camera has been set up, the chances of catching the criminal are much higher. Besides, using video cameras is to crime reduction by deterring potential criminals. For example, petty criminals such as shoplifters or pickpockets are less likely to commit crimes if they know that they are being watched. Since public safety is guaranteed, people’s fear of crime can also be reduced, while their sense of security is created. In conclusion, I can understand why some people think that CCTV restrict their privacy, but it seems to me that this brings more benefits than drawbacks.