Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages ?

In today's competitive world, some employers want their employees to remain in constant contact with them, even during leisure time. Although this trend may have some positives, it does bear a few negatives. To begin with, it is sometimes essential to be able to contact an employee, especially during difficult times at work, such as emergencies. For example, medical centres need to be able to reach their staff in case of patient emergencies; this urgent call may help save many endangered lives. Additionally, some situations require continuous communication; for instance, times of troubleshooting, in which a phone call or email may successfully deal with the problem and win a deal for the company. Despite the benefits mentioned above, regular contacting does not always benefit employers. Firstly, no staff likes to be contacted by their superiors when they are at home or a holiday. This interruption of relaxing time may invoke a feeling of resentment towards the employer. For instance, some individuals are forced to take their work round the clock, and sometimes they take their work home, which leads to a situation of overwork load. As a result, their mental stability is deteriorating without rest, which affects the quality of work they are doing. Moreover, employees may feel miserable at their workplace, and they might start seeking other job opportunities; this is an enormous loss for a business. Besides, no organisation profits from a troubled workplace because it may affect the growth and success of the company. In conclusion, although being able to reach subordinates during holidays may be a necessity in some situations, it may have a negative impact on employees' comfort and mental health. Hence, it should be reserved for emergencies only.