Employees sometime ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interest and whether they are married or single.Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful while other disagree.To what extent do you agree.

The contentious argument that whether employers can solicit personal information from job seekers in an employment application has sparked a heated debate among many. Some folks believe that sharing personal information while applying a job is beneficial for both organizations and employees whereas some set of people disagree with this view of sharing personal information. In my opinion, I completely agree with the view of seeking personal information from the employees.  On one hand, there are benefits to the organization in acquiring information about an employee including his hobbies and marital status.The primary advantage is that the multinational companies can gauge whether an applicant is best or not for the job position. For example, a job that requires lots of travelling around the globe is not good for married people because of their marital commitments. In addition to this, organizations can increase the employee retention rate by enquiring about their interest and hobbies. For instance, the majority of employees in a company like to play some game. By providing a sports pavilion to the workers, companies can hold employees for a long period of time. Thus, providing personal information to the organization is very useful. On the other hand, some people insist that employers should not ask personal information. According to them, the recruiters may use the personal information to discriminate against an employee. To illustrate, the more work burden is given to an employee who is unmarried in contrast to the married one. Furthermore, companies some time loses a potential candidate who has privacy concerns. Therefore, due to all these reasons asking personal information has no value.  In conclusion, I assert that the advantages of seeking information by the organization from job candidates  outweighs the  drawbacks as employers can match the job responsibilities with employees personal information and increase the employee retention rate.