Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier stage. Do you agree or disagree? Which type of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

Having a pre-set retirement age has always been a debatable topic. Some folks are of the opinion that having a set retirement age for everybody, irrespective of their profession is inequitable. There are a few others who have a difference of opinion. In my perspective, a set age to retire for everybody, disregarding the profession is unjust. The essay gingerly delineates my view in the following paragraphs. Some people may argue that age is just a number, however, it is indisputable to say that with age, one's agility, mobility, alertness, and physical strength reduce.The nature of work an individual indulges in also determines the rate at which one's abilities, reduces; which in turn could lead to detrimental consequences.To substantiate my point further, certain professions like construction, and driving, require mental and physical fitness; which irrefutably reduces with age. Various other occupations like the stock market and the IT industry might prove to be stressful. The amount of stress and pressure one can handle also reduces with age. This is evident by the fact that employers prefer young and energetic individuals over the older population. Furthermore, retirement is the age when one can pursue their hobbies and set aside some time for themselves. To substantiate my point, a construction worker or a driver needs alertness as well as physical fitness to perform their duties. Once they grow older, it turns out to be more difficult to work as they did when they were younger. To recapitulate, a common retirement age for everyone, regardless of the occupation, is unjust. While calculating the retirement age, including factors like occupation, circumstances and health of an individual might help in setting a more appropriate age of retirement.