In modern times, young adult are spending less time with their families and more time with their friends. Why has this change occurred? Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

In modern times, young adults are spending more time with their friends than with their families. It is identified that the new generation is out at coffee shops and other social hang out areas with friends. There are several reasons for the same. The essay, will discuss the lifestyle today, which has impacted the behaviour of today's youngsters. These days, social media has become very popular, where the youth are involved and feel the compulsion to be part of all platforms. Due to the above, it is noted that the youth spend more time with friends to fulfil the need of being up to date with current trends. Perhaps, it is the general attitude of youngsters that if they are not social they may not be accepted in circles with the same value and respect they deserve. For example, Instagram is so popular amongst the youth, they try to spend as much time as possible outside clicking pictures, visiting places, only to be more popular on the Internet. In my opinion, it is not advisable to force children to spend more time at home, however, it is important to teach them to create a balance between family and friends. Family helps in keeping up ties with elderly and at the same time grow with cultural values. Friends, help in developing bonds outside of blood relations and develop empathy towards other cultures. Creating a balance, helps in developing the personality of children where they are bold to face new people, at the same time are anchored to cultural values. It is recommended that parents discipline children at a younger age by limiting the amount of time they spend on electronic devices. In addition, parents should also have a control on the amount of time a child spends outside of their home with friends at a younger age. For instance, if children are to spend 6 hours a day in school or college, they should be allowed to spend an hour with friends after school and probably an hour of screen time (which is controlled and monitored). This would allow children to spend the remaining time developing their personal skills and also increase their involvement with family. To conclude, these days, there is a high influence of the Internet on the behaviour of youngsters. Which, has led to a lifestyle, where, there is limited time spent with family. Therefore, it is important that parents strike the right balance at an early age, while also, not forcing children to follow a set of rules, that may not be acceptable by the child leading to a rebellious nature.