Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for a child's mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, some people argued that watching television and playing video games are not beneficial to younger generations' mental well being. I completely agree with this claim, as these activities promote violence and can deliver a message that are not suitable to young audiences. To begin with, the advent of televisions and vast options of channel to watch, are not helping children to achieve optimal mental health. This activity is readily available with a single click in the remote control, which is very detrimental to younger viewers without parental guidance. In other words, youngsters can access the wide array of tv channel which can have scenes that are not promoting good manners and proper conduct that later on they can adapt. Although there is a regulating body, who is responsible in scrutinizing the episodes that can be watched, we can never assure that all scenes promote a healthy mentality such as adultery and crimes. In addition, playing video games is not suited for children as this exposes them to violence and aggression. The available games, like for example, Contra and Street Fighter are being inspired by battle and power that promotes the principle of 'survival of the fittest" and the weakest link will be perish. This kind of mentality is dangerous to young generations as they can adapt this and apply to their everyday life. In effect, children can be aggressive in the future and will loss the spirit of camaraderie, and always aiming to be the best at the expense of others. In conclusion, I totally believe that watching a lot of tv and playing video games are not healthy to child's mental health because this can promote violence and delinquency that can be acquired later on in their lives.